Presentation

slider_presentation

WATCH THE FILM

.

History

Created in 1952, ‘La Cigale’ is a housing cooperative comprising 273 apartments in two buildings located in Geneva, on the corner of the Rue de Vermont and the Rue du Vidollet.

57 years after their construction, a full renovation of both cooperative buildings’ façades and a new heating system was undertaken.

In this context, Brolliet, which has been responsible for managing the Cooperative since its creation in 1952, and its partners, submitted a sustainable renovation proposal to the ‘La Cigale’ buildings’ members. The objective was both clear and ambitious: to achieve close to a 70% reduction in the buildings’ heating requirements thanks to improved energy performance and less dependency on fossil fuels, with the aim, therefore, of obtaining Minergie-P® certification.

Unanimously accepted by the cooperative’s members, Brolliet took on the role of pilot and leading consultant for this operation and set up a group of experts including architects François Baud and Thomas Früh, BG Ingénieurs Conseils SA, Signa-Terre SA, Geneva Industrial Services (SIG) and UBS to manage investment and fundraising.


projet_afterbefore

La Cigale before renovation

La Cigale after renovation

Project

Every possible measure was taken so that the major renovation operation would create the least possible impact on the quality of life of ‘La Cigale’ members. In this context, work lasted only one year, from 2013 to 2014, and mobile scaffolding was put up and relocated as the prefabricated elements and loggias went up. This innovative solution enabled all renovation work to be implemented from outside the buildings, allowing all residents to remain in their apartments throughout the duration of the work.

In order to meet the set energy objectives, the cooperative selected a highly innovative heating concept designed by Energie Solaire SA comprising a hot water and heating generation system combining a heat pump, ice accumulator and solar thermal roofing covering 1700 m². It utilises low-temperature solar contributions and is therefore able to cover over 80% of the renovated buildings’ heating requirements using solar energy. The heat pumps use ‘Vitale Vert’ energy from SIG, enabling the ‘La Cigale’ buildings to be supplied with 97% renewable energy. Finally, a small natural gas source is conserved to provide backup heating in exceptional weather conditions, thereby guaranteeing tenant quality of life.

Rent levels, which were also taken into account, were a key element in the conception of this project in order to respect the cooperative’s operating philosophy. This involved a financial plan implemented by Brolliet in order to restrict, as far as possible, the repercussions of the work on members and keep rent levels below market average, i.e. approximately -50%.

By virtue of its size, the Minergie-P® ‘La Cigale’ renovation project is unique in Switzerland. And the work carried out had a considerable impact, representing 98% of the Minergie-P® surface area of transformations in the Canton of Geneva!

Despite the cost of such a renovation, estimated at CHF 18.5 m, obtaining Minergie-P® certification on such high volumes makes this project the first of its kind in Switzerland. In addition, the active partnership between the different stakeholders and members of ‘La Cigale’, all the social, ecological and financial solutions implemented make the renovation of ‘La Cigale’ a pilot experience, fully reproducible in Switzerland.

Présentation

slider_presentation

REGARDER LE FILM

.

Historique

Fondée en 1952, la Coopérative d’habitation « La Cigale » compte 273 appartements répartis entre deux immeubles situés à Genève, à l’angle des rues de Vermont et du Vidollet.

57 ans après sa construction, une rénovation complète des façades des deux bâtiments de la Coopérative ainsi que le remplacement de leur chaufferie est envisagée.

Dans ce contexte, la régie Brolliet en charge de la gestion de la Coopérative depuis sa création en 1952 ainsi que ses partenaires soumettent alors une proposition de rénovation durable aux sociétaires des immeubles de « La Cigale ». L’objectif est clair et ambitieux : réduire de près de 70% les besoins en chaleur des bâtiments grâce à une amélioration énergétique et à la diminution de la dépendance aux énergies fossiles visant ainsi une certification Minergie-P.

Le projet ayant été accepté à l’unanimité par les sociétaires de la Coopérative, la régie Brolliet assume le rôle de pilote et conseiller privilégié de cette opération et met en place une structure de professionnels regroupant le bureau d’architecture François Baud et Thomas Früh, BG Ingénieurs Conseils SA, Signa-Terre SA, les services industriels de Genève (SIG) ainsi que l’UBS chargée du financement et de la recherche de fonds.


projet_afterbefore

La Cigale avant rénovation

La Cigale après rénovation

Projet

Tout a été mis en œuvre pour que l’important chantier de rénovation engendre des nuisances réduites au maximum de manière à préserver la qualité de vie des sociétaires de « La Cigale ». Dans cette perspective, ceux-ci n’ont duré qu’un an, de 2013 à 2014, et des échafaudages mobiles ont été utilisés et déplacés au fur et à mesure de de la pose d’éléments préfabriqués et de loggias. Le recours à cette solution innovante a permis de réaliser tous les travaux de rénovation directement de l’extérieur des bâtiments permettant ainsi à tous les habitants de rester chez eux durant toute la période des travaux.

Afin d’atteindre les objectifs énergétiques fixés, La Coopérative a retenu un concept de chauffage tout à fait novateur conçu par la société Energie Solaire SA où le système de production d’eau chaude et de chauffage combine une pompe à chaleur, un accumulateur de glace et une toiture solaire thermique de 1’700 m². Il favorise les apports solaires à basse température et arrive ainsi à couvrir, par l’énergie solaire, plus de 80% des besoins en chaleur des immeubles rénovés. Les pompes à chaleur fonctionnent avec l’électricité « Vitale Vert » des SIG, qui permet aux immeubles de « La Cigale » d’être fournis à hauteur de 97% en énergies renouvelables. Finalement, une petite production de gaz est conservée afin de fournir un appoint de chauffage lors de conditions climatiques exceptionnelles, garantissant ainsi la qualité de vie des locataires.

Par ailleurs, l’effort s’est également porté sur l’aspect des loyers qui a constitué un élément important de la réflexion menée autour de ce projet afin de respecter la philosophie de fonctionnement de la Coopérative. Ainsi, un plan financier a été mis en œuvre par la régie Brolliet afin de limiter autant que possible les répercussions des travaux réalisés sur les sociétaires et maintenir les loyers au-dessous du marché, soit -50% environ.

De par sa taille, le projet de rénovation de « La Cigale » certifié Minergie-P est un cas unique en Suisse. Et les travaux réalisés ont eu un impact considérable, puisqu’ils représentent 98% de la surface Minergie-P des transformations du canton de Genève !

Bien qu’une telle rénovation ait un coût, devisé à 18.5 Mio CHF, l’obtention du label Minergie-P sur des volumes si conséquents fait de ce projet une première en Suisse. Par ailleurs, le partenariat actif entre les différents acteurs en présence et les sociétaires de « La Cigale », l’ensemble des solutions sociales, écologiques, financières mobilisées font de la rénovation de « La Cigale » une expérience pilote tout à fait reproductible en Suisse.